Just read this: Cultivating Weird

from History in the Making http://www.benarment.com/history_in_the_making/2012/05/cultivating-weird.html

If it’s not careful, an organization will turn its success and experience into automation.

This year’s event or this year’s book or this year’s offering becomes easier to create than last year’s offering because it’s been done before. It becomes an assembly line process.

Someone told me recently that James Patterson has an $18 million a year book factory. He (self-admittedly) has a formula for best-sellers, so he writes an outline and hands-off the book to a team of writers who fill-in-the-blanks while he sits on a yacht. (I don’t actually know if he has a yacht.)

I understand why they do this.

The systems get easier, the work more efficient, the routines more familiar. And the financial margins are awesome… money rolls-in while the creators live the good life.

But what people get is a formula.

An assembly-line manufactured good.

I went to a conference in NYC three times before I realized it was the same formula repeated year after year.

The other day at Busch Gardens, the Newsboys happened to be playing in the amphitheater. It’s been 13 years since I’d seen one of their shows, so I thought I’d treat my three boys to the band. It was the same opener, the same spinning drum kit, and same hooks they used when I was a teenager.

Formula.

I don’t know about you, but I’m after… weird.

Weird doesn’t come off an assembly line.

It comes in different forms each year. It comes out of experimentation, risk, and fluke.

Believe me, I don’t underestimate some people’s propensity to do the same exact thing year after year regardless of how beneficial or effective it is. But I just can’t do it.

Weirdness is how some University of Texas engineering students took to foam swordfight battles in order to relieve some stress… and now it’s become a school institution.

It’s two guys who set-up a temporary city in the Black Rock Desert of Nevada one August which became Burning Man.

It’s how Seth Godin abandoned publishing for self-publishing and used it to write a book called We Are All Weird.

It’s disrupting your organizational model before others do.

from History in the Making http://www.benarment.com/history_in_the_making/2012/05/cultivating-weird.html

Leave a Reply

