Just read this: Personal Connection Through Social Media

from joshburns.net/blog http://joshburns.net/blog/?p=1325&utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+Joshburnsnetblog+%28joshburns.net%2Fblog%29

As you all know I like to write, talk, and breathe social media in the church. If you’ve read my blog for any amount of time I hope it is fairly obvious what I strive to do. My goal is to connect people using social media. This happens both inside and outside of the church. As you can imagine I spend a fair amount of time on these tools, Facebook, Twitter, and the like.

Today I saw a tweet from my friend Stephen Proctor about Warby Parker, a website that sells glasses. I had heard of this site previously from some podcasts that I listen to, so I replied to his tweet asking what his experience was like.

Little did I know I would get a huge lesson in personal connection through social media!

See the progression of events below…

See the convo below:

 

Then about 30 minutes later I received this tweet:

 

This is the video that was linked in the tweet:

 

Take a lesson from Warby Parker. This is social media done right! I harp on this all the time, yes, social media is important. Yes, we as the church should have a presence in social media. But it’s not enough just to have a presence anymore. We have to bring a personal connection to our social media presence! And outside of grabbing coffee with someone who tweets your church, I believe this is almost as personal as it gets.

When I received this video I felt a personal connection to Warby Parker. I don’t know that girl’s name, but I sure as heck am going to try out their glasses. Why? Because she took the time and effort to create this video specifically for me. It’s a personal touch that I believe has been lost in recent years.

What would it look like for you as a church to personally respond to everyone who retweets you, or everyone who comments on your church’s Facebook Page? I think this use of video is a great way to personally reach out to people.

It brings that personal connection one step closer to a face-to-face relationship, which I believe is what the church should strive to do through social media. 

It moves that tweet from text on a screen to a personal video.

These are the connections that are possible with social media. 

It isn’t about promoting your church, or promoting your ministry.

It is about creating relationships, and seeing lives transformed by the Gospel of Jesus Christ.

God works through conversations and connections, which is how we should be using social media as a church.

 

What do you think about this use of video?

Do you see it as a viable connecting tool for your church?

Leave a comment below…

from joshburns.net/blog http://joshburns.net/blog/?p=1325&utm_source=feedburner&utm_medium=feed&utm_campaign=Feed%3A+Joshburnsnetblog+%28joshburns.net%2Fblog%29

Leave a Reply

